WARNING: Your Browser May Cause Online Flagger Testing to be Unusable

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Fine Print

Our ATSSA approved course material is the same material presented by a human ATSSA instructor because we are human ATSSA instructors. The card you receive when you pass is the exact same card regardless of the method obtained. Any ATSSA issued flagger card is usually accepted in other states with only a few exceptions.

The main reason you have to select a state is that each State DOT requires you to recertify every 2-4 years depending on the state. Your card will have an expiration date based on the states recertification requirements. There are a few very small differences in training and some states do ask a different set of test questions. Your flagger card will have a two letter state designation on it and that is the only difference between cards.

All flagger cards expire in 4 years from the date issued. BUT even though your flagger card expires in 4 years, if your state requires that you be recertified every 2 years (Colorado, Kentucky, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin) you must go through the whole course again at the end of the two years, to flag in those 5 states. Other states have 3-year requirements, but the majority have a 4-year requirement.

Most Departments of Transportation (DOT) accepts and approves the American Traffic Safety Services Association (ATSSA) flagger certification and training course or program.

ATSSA approved OnlineFlagger.com as an independent flagger trainer in 2007 and OnlineFlagger has provided training in just about every state since.

ATSSA has numerous approved independent flagger trainers (instructors) across the United States that can teach classes anywhere they wish. ATSSA allows instructors to modify the ATSSA base flagger curriculum with additional materials that may be required in that state for which they are having a class. OnlineFlagger added state-specific information to the appropriate states.

The flagger course we deliver is approved by ATSSA. This course is within the guidelines set forth by ATSSA. The flagger certification card you will receive is the official ATSSA Flagger Certification card that ATSSA provides to us, to give to you upon successful completion of the course. This is the card that is recognized by the DOT. Click to see a sample

In most situations, a flagger certification card issued in any state is accepted in any other state as proof of training. We do know there are a few states that require you take their specific class, in that case, you might need to take an additional course if you choose to work in another state.

Several State DOT’s have recognized our training and have listed OnlineFlagger.com specifically as the only approved online training source for flaggers.

As for the rest of the DOT’s, since DOT’s generally do not endorse specific flagger trainers, nothing stated on this website or on the internet should be construed to indicate that any specific DOT directly endorses OnlineFlagger.com specifically.

If you are working on state-funded projects exclusively, please note:

The ATSSA Online Flagger Course is not accepted on state-funded projects in the following states:
CA, FL, GA, IA, ID, IL, MA, MN, MS, MT, NC*, NE, NJ, NV, OR, RI, SC, SD, TN**, TX, UT, VA, & WA.
*Online flagger training is accepted in NC for re-certification, only.
**The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) is now accepting Online Flagger Training through Dec. 31, 2021.

If you are not working exclusively on a state-funded project this training should meet your needs.

Our training program is accepted by all other states, and the flagger certification card is the same ATSSA flagger card issued by all other instructors.

Online Flagger

Our hours are 7 AM to 5 PM Mountain Time (Colorado) Monday - Friday

Technical support:

Call: 720-962-8815 during business hours.

If your call is sent to voice-mail, please leave a message. All calls are returned during business hours.


October 2021